when there is no movement…

scared………paranoid………worried…………
baby boy hadn’t moved since before breakfast.
tried all of the usual things to aggravate baby.
no movement.
sugary drinks, candy, laying on left side then laying on right side.
no movement.
football game, beating of the drums, playing of the band.
no movement.
trying not to be neurotic, decided to wait & see what morning would bring.
middle of the night restroom break proved much of the same.
no movement.
morning restroom break was more of the same.
no movement.
woke husband up bawling with worry because it had now be over 24 hours since I had felt this very active & strong boy make any movement in my body.
proceeded on with a day of soccer games so kids wouldn’t know of the impending situation that might be at hand.
went to labor & delivery while kids were with in-laws oblivious to what we were doing.
as we were waiting for the nurse to come into our room, a song from my childhood that I heard my Dad sing over & over came to my mind. the words seemed just perfect for the situation.
 

“In this very room there’s quite enough love for one like me,
And in this very room there’s quite enough joy for one like me,
And there’s quite enough hope and quite enough power to chase away any gloom,
For Jesus, Lord Jesus … is in this very room.”

 
just as I was in the middle of singing this song in my head, the nurse came in & put the monitor on my belly. it took her several tries & as I held my breath the most beautiful music came over the other end of that monitor. it was 100 times better than any song I could have been singing.

 
it was a heartbeat.

the heartbeat of our baby boy that had not moved in about 30 hours.
my biggest fear of that day had been crushed as I felt a movement that would make any mother in my situation bawl like a baby.

This entry was posted in baby 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to when there is no movement…

  1. CJ says:

    Pregnancy is such a scary time….I'm glad you got to hear your song.

  2. Galit Breen says:

    Oh thank goodness!

    Just- thank goodness!

    Most beautiful sound ever, yes?

  3. allison says:

    This just gave me chills. And I can hear your dad singing that song, too. 🙂

  4. Sarah says:

    I think I might have been holding my breath until the end. I'm so glad you got to hear that heart beat!

  5. Heather EO says:

    oh what sweet grace and relief!!!

  6. Heather EO says:

    oh what sweet grace and relief!!!

  7. Krystyn says:

    Best sound and feeling ever! You really had me scared.

Leave a Reply

