Due Date!!!

7 years ago yesterday I looked like this…


I was due to have my baby and alas the baby was not ready to join the world!

I remember that day like it was literally yesterday! I was not really nervous or anxious as I had never had a baby before. I had no idea what I was in for or what I was going to be doing when it came to actually having the baby. I was ready to know if it was a boy or a girl though. It was a surprise and even though I instinctively knew that I was having a boy, I was excited by the chance that it could be a girl and I could have been wrong the whole time! Two names were picked out, on for a boy and one for a girl! Connor Grant or Makenzee Marie! My Mom came up with Connor. I remember not being crazy about that name because at the time all of the Lacy Peterson stuff was going on and she had planned to name her son Conner! So it took me awhile to be “ok” with that name. Then we spelled it different and I let all of that stuff go I knew it was the name for my boy. Makenzee was my favorite girl name. I was going to spell it with two e’s because my Mom has two e’s at the end of her first name and I have two e’s at the end of my middle name. Carrying on Making a tradition if you will!!! Grant and Marie are from my Mom. Grant is her maiden name and Marie is her middle name. My Dad is not a fan of using family names though! Even though I wanted to use his middle name for my boy’s middle name, my Dad won that battle!!!

The craziest thing about that day, I went to work. Waiting tables like I did everyday. There was a weird part though, having to tell people that I was due “today”! They just looked at me like I was nuts for working on my due date! Like I told them, I don’t have anything else to do and maybe this will get the ball rolling on all of this labor stuff! I have to say that I made some really good money that day. I guess it pays to work on your due date. You get lots of sympathy tips!!! On this day I was oblivious to the fact that the whole labor part would NEVER happen on it’s own!

Looking at this picture makes me realize that I wasn’t as big as I thought I was or as I felt! I felt HUGE!!!!! But it also makes me realize the miracle that is carrying a child. It is absolutely amazing what our bodies can do when we are with child!!!

It would be 9 more days until I got to meet my precious little newborn…..

This entry was posted in baby, birthday, connor. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Due Date!!!

  1. Lindsay says:

    oo what a fun story! Happy almost Birthday Connor!

  2. Mighty M says:

    Great story – I worked on my due date too, only I didn't have to stand so much!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

